Odisha Power Transmission Corporation Limited (OPTCL) has released an advertisement for the engagement of Graduate, Diploma and ITI Trade Apprentices for the year 2026–27. A total of 100 apprentice seats are available in Degree Engineering, Degree Non-Engineering, Diploma Engineering and ITI trades.
Eligible candidates belonging to Odisha can apply online through the official OPTCL website after completing registration on the applicable NATS or NAPS portal. The online application process starts on 02 September 2026 and ends on 01 October 2026.
Candidates interested in OPTCL Apprenticeship 2026 should check the educational qualification, age limit, stipend, eligibility conditions, selection process and important dates before applying.
OPTCL Apprentice Recruitment 2026 Quick Overview
| Detail | Information |
|---|---|
| Organization | Odisha Power Transmission Corporation Limited (OPTCL) |
| Advertisement No. | OPTCL-14013/9/2026-T AND D – Part (1) – 14389 |
| Post Name | Graduate, Diploma & ITI Trade Apprentices |
| Total Seats | 100 |
| Duration of Training | 1 year (12 months) |
| Job Location | Different OPTCL Units/Offices across Odisha |
| Application Mode | Online |
| Application Start Date | 02 September 2026 |
| Last Date to Apply | 01 October 2026 |
| Official Website | www.optcl.co.in |
Vacancy Details (Discipline-wise)
| Apprentice Type | Discipline | Seats | Stipend per Month |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree Engineering | Degree Electrical | 32 | ₹12,300 |
| Degree Engineering | Degree IT | 1 | ₹12,300 |
| Degree Engineering | Degree Telecom | 1 | ₹12,300 |
| Degree Non-Engineering | Human Resources | 4 | ₹12,300 |
| Degree Non-Engineering | Finance | 2 | ₹12,300 |
| Degree Non-Engineering | Law | 1 | ₹12,300 |
| Diploma Technician | Diploma Electrical | 20 | ₹10,900 |
| Diploma Technician | Diploma Telecom | 1 | ₹10,900 |
| Diploma Technician | Diploma Civil | 2 | ₹10,900 |
| ITI Trade | ITI Electrician | 33 | ₹9,600 |
| ITI Trade | ITI Electronic Mechanic | 3 | ₹9,600 |
| Total | 100 |
Important: The number of seats against each trade/discipline may change (increase or decrease) as per the corporation’s requirement, and vacancies will be filled as per applicable reservation rules. If a vacancy remains unfilled in a specific discipline due to unavailability of suitable candidates, candidates from other disciplines within the same apprenticeship type (Degree/Diploma/ITI) will be considered.
Eligibility Criteria
General Eligibility (All Disciplines)
- Nationality: Only Indian Nationals belonging to the State of Odisha are eligible to apply
- Age: Candidate should not be less than 18 years as on 01.08.2026 (no upper age limit is mentioned in the notification)
- Qualification must be from a recognized Board/Council/University/Institute, obtained through a regular full-time course
- Candidates must meet the Minimum Physical Standard as prescribed under Clause 4 of the Apprenticeship Rules, 1992 (and its amendments)
- Candidates who have already completed apprenticeship training under the Apprentices Act, 1961, or who have 1 year or more of job experience, are not eligible
- Candidates who are currently appearing for their essential qualifying examination are not eligible
- Candidates must possess the passing certificate/final year mark sheet of the required qualification by 01.07.2026
- The gap between the date of joining apprenticeship training and the date of passing the essential qualifying exam must be not more than 3 years, and the qualifying exam must have been passed during Academic Year 2023-24, 2024-25, or 2025-26
- Candidates must be registered on the NAPS/NATS portal, with their Aadhaar number seeded to their bank account for Direct Benefit Transfer (DBT)
Educational Qualification (Discipline-wise)
| Discipline | Required Qualification |
|---|---|
| Degree Electrical | BE/B.Tech in Electrical/Electrical & Electronics Engineering or equivalent |
| Degree IT | BE/B.Tech in Computer Science/Information Technology or equivalent |
| Degree Telecom | BE/B.Tech in Electronics & Telecommunication/Applied Electronics & Instrumentation/Electronics & Communication Engineering or equivalent |
| Diploma Electrical | Diploma in Electrical Engineering or equivalent |
| Diploma Civil | Diploma in Civil Engineering or equivalent |
| Diploma Telecom | Diploma in Electronics & Telecommunication/Applied Electronics & Instrumentation Engineering or equivalent |
| Human Resources | MBA (HR)/MSW/PG Degree in Personnel Management/Personnel Management & Industrial Relations or equivalent |
| Finance | M.Com (Finance/Accounts) from a recognized University/Institution, or B.Com with Intermediate in CMA from ICAI, or equivalent |
| Law | LLM/LLB or equivalent |
| ITI Electrician | ITI in Electrician Trade or equivalent |
| ITI Electronic Mechanic | ITI in Electronics Mechanic Trade or equivalent |
Note: For Non-Engineering Apprentices, graduation in disciplines like BA, BSc, BCom, BBA, or equivalent shall be preferred.
Important Dates
| Event | Date |
|---|---|
| Advertisement Date | 29.08.2026 |
| Opening Date of Online Application | 02.09.2026, 12:00 AM (Wednesday) |
| Closing Date of Online Application | 01.10.2026, 11:59 PM (Thursday) |
| Selection Test/Interview Date | Not mentioned in notification |
Stipend / Pay Details
| Apprentice Type | Monthly Stipend |
|---|---|
| Degree Engineering Apprentice | ₹12,300 |
| Degree Non-Engineering Apprentice | ₹12,300 |
| Diploma Technician Apprentice | ₹10,900 |
| ITI Trade Apprentice | ₹9,600 |
Important stipend detail: OPTCL will pay 50% of the stipend for Degree Engineering, Diploma Technician, and Degree Non-Engineering Apprentices, while the remaining 50% will be paid through DBT by the body referred to in the notification as “BOPT” (this likely refers to the Board of Apprenticeship Training, though the notification uses this exact abbreviation — please verify with OPTCL if you need clarity). The payment split for ITI Trade Apprentices is not explicitly clarified in the notification.
Period & Location of Apprenticeship Training
- Duration: 1 year (12 months), commencing from the online contract date
- Apprentices are entitled to stipend from the start of the contract date, subject to satisfactory performance
- Training will be provided at various OPTCL units and offices spread across Odisha
- No accommodation or allowance in lieu of accommodation will be provided at training locations
- Apprentices must strictly follow safety rules at their place of engagement
- Completion of apprenticeship does not guarantee employment with OPTCL, nor can any apprentice claim a right to employment on this basis
Documents / Details Required
Candidates should keep their relevant documents and information ready while completing the registration/application process.
The notification particularly requires candidates to ensure that their:
- Educational qualification details
- Apprenticeship registration details
- Personal details
- Bank account details
- Aadhaar details
are correctly entered in the respective apprenticeship portal profile.
Any discrepancy or omission may make the candidate ineligible for apprenticeship training.
How to Apply — Step by Step
- Register on the appropriate government portal first:
- Degree Engineering (Electrical, IT, Telecom), Diploma (Electrical, Telecom, Civil), and Degree Non-Engineering (HR, Finance, Law) applicants must register on the NATS 2.0 portal: https://nats.education.gov.in/
- ITI Trade applicants must register on the NAPS portal: https://apprenticeshipindia.gov.in
- Ensure your Aadhaar is seeded with your bank account for DBT purposes.
- After generating your registration/enrollment number from the NATS/NAPS portal, apply on the OPTCL website following these steps:
- Visit www.optcl.co.in
- Click on HRD Section
- Click on Training & Development
- Click on Advertisement for Engagement of Apprentices 2026
- Click on Apply Online
- Follow the detailed application procedure uploaded on the Apply Online page.
- Ensure all educational, personal, bank account, and Aadhaar details are entered accurately in your apprenticeship portal profile — any discrepancy found later may render you ineligible.
- Submit your application within the window: 02.09.2026 to 01.10.2026.
- To apply directly, use the Apply Online link provided in the Important Links section.
Selection Process
Selection will be made on the basis of:
- Academic merit
- Written Test (as required)
- Interview (as required)
The notification does not specify exact weightage or a detailed breakdown of these three components, nor does it mention specific test/interview dates — these will likely be communicated separately to eligible candidates.
Key Rules & Disclaimers
- Incomplete or erroneous applications will be rejected without further communication.
- Canvassing or pressuring through any source will lead to disqualification, and the candidate’s name will be removed from official records without prior intimation.
- If false or incorrect information is furnished at any stage, the candidature/engagement is liable to be cancelled.
- The decision of OPTCL Management is final and binding on all matters relating to eligibility, selection, and cancellation — no correspondence will be entertained.
- Filling of seats is solely at the discretion of OPTCL Management based on candidate suitability; no claims will be entertained if seats remain unfilled due to unsuitability or insufficient candidates.
- No TA/DA or other expenses will be paid for attending Document Verification or Interview.
- OPTCL explicitly states it follows a transparent, merit-based process and does not support any bribe or unofficial payment. Candidates are urged to rely only on official OPTCL channels and ignore false claims of influence.
- Application fee: Not mentioned in the notification.
- Category-wise reservation numbers (UR/SC/ST/OBC/EWS): Not specified — the notification only states that seats will be filled “as per the reservation rules applicable.”
Important Links
| Degree/Diploma Apprentices | Click Here |
| ITI Trade Apprentices) | Click Here |
| Official Website | Click Here |
| More Odisha Govt Jobs | Click Here |
| OPTCL Training & Development | Click Here |
| Notification PDF | Click Here |
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
1. How many apprentice seats are available in OPTCL Apprentice Recruitment 2026?
A total of 100 apprentice seats are available.
2. What is the last date to apply for OPTCL Apprentice 2026?
The last date is 01 October 2026 at 11:59 PM.
3. When did the OPTCL Apprentice application start?
The online application started on 02 September 2026 at 12:00 AM.
4. What is the duration of OPTCL apprenticeship training?
The apprenticeship training period is one year (12 months).
5. What is the stipend for OPTCL apprentices?
The stipend ranges from ₹9,600 to ₹12,300 per month, depending on the apprentice category.
6. Who can apply for OPTCL Apprentice Recruitment 2026?
Indian Nationals belonging to Odisha who satisfy the educational, age and other eligibility conditions mentioned in the notification can apply.
7. Can candidates who have already completed apprenticeship training apply?
No. Candidates who have completed apprenticeship training under the Apprentices Act, 1961 are not eligible.
8. Is OPTCL apprenticeship a permanent government job?
No. It is a one-year apprenticeship training opportunity. Completion of apprenticeship does not create a right to employment with OPTCL.
9. Which portal is required for Degree and Diploma candidates?
Eligible Degree Engineering, Diploma Engineering and Degree Non-Engineering candidates need to register on the NATS 2.0 portal.
10. Which portal is required for ITI candidates?
ITI Trade Apprentice candidates need to register on the NAPS portal.
